About Commonwealth

The Commonwealth is a voluntary association of 56 independent and equal countries.

It is home to 2.5 billion people, and includes both advanced economies and developing countries. 32 of our members are small states, including many island nations.

Our member governments have agreed to shared goals like development, democracy and peace. Our values and principles are expressed in the Commonwealth Charter.


Member countries

2.5 Billion


Mauritius is a subtropical island country in the Indian Ocean, just over 1,130 kilometers east of Madagascar, off the south-eastern coast of Africa. Its outlying territories include Rodrigues Island and other smaller islands. The main island is surrounded by coral reefs and has sandy beaches, with fertile plains rising sharply to rocky mountains.

Mauritius joined the Commonwealth in 1968, following independence from Britain.